Football News, Scoops, And Much More

What Teams Are Going to The World Cup 2022?

The World Cup always grabs the attention of billions of people from all over the world. Football fans and international football teams wait for it for four years. The greatest of international teams and players compete for the title of Championship. Administered by FIFA, this tournament was introduced in 1930 and since then it has been played every 4 years. Till now 21 World Cup tournaments have been held and World Cup 2022 in Qatar is going to be the 22nd World Cup. It is scheduled to be played from November 20 to December 18 instead of mid months of the year due to higher temperature in the country. 8 stadiums in Qatar are going to host the World Cup across 5 different states that are Sl Khor, Al Wakrah, Lusail, Al Rayyan and Doha, the capital of the country. 

Despite the fact that World will be played in an Arab Country for the first time, people are more interested to know which teams and players are going to be a part of it.  Especially when there are the most successful clubs like Real Madrid and Barcelona in existence  who would not like to know which teams are qualified. Well FIFA World Cup 2022 is almost here and the most asked question is which teams are going to the FIFA World Cup 2022. 

What Teams are Going to The World Cup 2022?

Since 1998, the number of qualifying countries for the world cup has been 32 which will extend to 48 from World Cup 2026 onwards. A total of 32 international teams including the hosting nation, Qatar will compete to win the men’s world cup and become the Champion.  Other than Qatar, 31 qualified Nations have earned a ticket to the event through regional qualifying matches. Qatar had a free ticket to the event along with the right to host the world cup. 32 teams coming from all around the world represent distinct regions of the earth in order to ensure equal representation for every region. 

Number of Teams From Different Regions:

  • Africa (CAF): 5
  • Europe (UEFA): 13
  • Asia (AFC): 4 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)
  • Oceania (OFC): 1 playoff qualifier
  • North/central America and Caribbean (CONCACAF): 3 (+1 playoff qualifier)
  • South America (CONMEBOL): 4 (+1 playoff qualifier)

32 teams which are going to play in the 2022 World Cup have been selected from different regions. 13 qualified Nations for the 2022 World Cup are from Europe, four from Asia, four from South America, 5 from Africa and the last 4 teams have been qualified from North America and Australia, a member of the Asian confederation. But the most important thing is which 32 teams qualify for the upcoming next world cup. 

National teams selected from Europe are Germany, Denmark, France, Belgium, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland, Netherlands, Portugal, Poland and Wales. While Qatar (automatically qualified due to having the right of hosting), Saudi Arabia, Iran, South Korea, Japan and Australia have qualified for the World Cup from Asia. Brazil, Argentina, Ecuador and Uruguay from South America. While the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica and Canada will represent North America. Nations like Ghana, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Cameroon will represent Africa in the World Cup 2022. 

How many groups will join the FIFA World Cup 2022?

FIFA World Cup 2022 is segmented in several stages. In order to win a nation has to cross several stages. The first phase of the tournament would be the group phase in which eight groups will participate consisting of four nations each. Qualifying teams of this phase would be selected to go to the knockout phase. Date and time of these phases of the tournament is predetermined. 

Groups Qualified for FIFA World Cup 2022

  • Group A

         Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal and the Netherlands

  • Group B

          England, Iran, the United States and Wales

  • Group C

          Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico and Poland

  • Group D

          France, Australia, Denmark and Tunisia

  • Group E

          Spain, Costa Rica, Germany and Japan

  • Group F

          Belgium, Canada, Morocco and Croatia

  • Group G

          Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon

  • Group H

          Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea

When will the World Cup 2022 Start?

It’s been a long time since the announcement of the World Cup 2022 was made. Almost everybody is aware of the venue of this upcoming World Cup which is the Middle East (Arab world) country Qatar. Qatar is one of the richest countries on the planet due to the availability of oil and minerals in abundance. These natural resources are the major source of its income. The country is not just rich by value but also has a good position on the international stage. The World Cup tournament 2022 will be held from November 20 to December 18. 

Group matches are the first to ice break the tournament. It will be played on November 20, Sunday. And the world cup final will be held on December 18 which is also the Qatar National day. The opening group match will be played by group A at the Al Bayt Stadium. Qatar has got the opportunity to kick off the tournament as it is first to play a match against Ecuador. Call it a coincidence or not, the world Cup final will be played on a Sunday as per tradition. The winning team will be announced on the same day and the trophy will be awarded. 

World Cup Trophy

Whoever team emerges as the winner of the World Cup gets the title of World football Champion along with a gold trophy. The trophy is always awarded to the winners for which they put everything on stake. The trophy awarded to the winning team today is not what was given in the Initial World Cups. Yes! Two trophies have been used since the inauguration of the world cup in 1930. The Jules Rimet trophy was used to reward FIFA World Cup winners till 1970. And the World Cup gold trophy you see today came into use in the 1974 World Cup and continues to be awarded to the present day. You will be shocked to know that it is one of the most expensive trophies in the world with a value of $20 million. 

Originally the world cup trophy was named victory but later its name was changed in honor of the FIFA president Jules Rimet. It was made of gold plated silver and lapis lazuli and depicted Nike, the Greek goddess of Victory. The original Jules Rimet trophy got lost or stolen in 1983 and never recovered. 

In 1970 when Brazil won the Jules Rimet trophy they filed a request for its replacement. Then in 1974 the original trophy was replaced with the FIFA World Cup trophy which is used nowadays. This second trophy is made of 18 karat gold with bands of malachite on its base. It is 36.8 centimeters in height while weighs 6.1 kilograms which is heavier than a newborn baby. This trophy was designed and manufactured by an Italian company named Stabilimento Artistico Bertoni Company. The same trophy is transferred from one winner to another after every four years. Presently, France is the holder of this trophy. This is the second time France has won this trophy.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More

Top 10 Rules of Football Top 10 Richest Football Clubs in the World in 2022 10 Most Beautiful Women Footballers In The World Footballers’ Girlfriends/Wife Name List 20 Amazing Facts About Football !